Connect with us


Gov/HoA Polls: Maintain Political Neutrality, Army Chief Charges Soldiers, Releases Emergency Phone Numbers



The Chief of Army Staff (COAS), Lieutenant General Faruk Yahaya has directed formation and unit commanders of the Nigerian Army to ensure that troops remain professional and apolitical during the forthcoming Gubernatorial and House of Assembly Elections across the nation.

The Army Chief handed down the charge while addressing formation and unit commanders across the country, prelude to the rescheduled 18 March 2023 polls. Gen Yahaya, who commended the troops for their overall performance in the provision of security during the last polls admonished them to shun all forms of inducement, enticement or cajoling that could compromise the security of the polls, adding that a secure and safe atmosphere must be provided for the citizenry to exercise their civic responsibility of chosing their leaders. Gen Yahaya charged the troops to adhere strictly to the guidelines in the Code of Conduct for Operation Safe Conduct, as any contravention will attract dire consequences.

He urged the commanders to intensify efforts at providing security support for the elections and be ready to respond promptly to any emergency situation while prioritizing the protection of key national infrastructure.

The COAS equally reminded his commanders of the oath of allegiance they swore to defend the sovereignty of Nigeria and maintained that the Nigerian Army must be seen by all to stand in defence of Nigeria’s democracy.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian Army has updated its list of hotlines for monitoring and reporting of emergencies and acts capable of disrupting the coming elections. It could be recalled that the NA had earlier released a set of contacts during the Presidential election held in Febuary 2023 as part of measures to support the Police in establishing a conducive environment for the successful conduct of free,fair and peaceful elections.

Members of the general public are please enjoined to call the phone numbers below in their various states and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja to report any security breach during the elections.

1. ABIA STATE – 09029568595

2. ADAMAWA – 08022750987

3. AKWA IBOM STATE – 09070077175

4. ANAMBRA STATE – 08030881453

5. BAUCHI STATE – 08128063675

6. BAYELSA STATE – 08107855752

7. BENUE STATE – 08080754339

8. BORNO STATE – 09099616160

9. CROSS RIVER – 08037084192

10. DELTA STATE – 09044400064

11. EBONYI STATE – 08158274048

12. EDO STATE – 09066325953

13. EKITI STATE – 08037851448

14. ENUGU STATE – 09032102212

15. GOMBE STATE – 07063908779

16. IMO STATE – 08069587883

17. JIGAWA STATE – 07017791414

18. KADUNA STATE – 07031544227

19. KANO STATE – 08038432656

20. KASTINA STATE – 08108854061

21. KEBBI STATE – 09130213661

22. KOGI STATE – 08033217964

23. KWARA STATE – 09060001270

24. LAGOS STATE – 07034769430

25. NASARAWA STATE – 09051009404

26. NIGER STATE – 07031346425

27. OGUN STATE – 09116589494

28. ONDO STATE – 08036130535

29. OSUN STATE – 09019683922

30. OYO STATE – 07047703000

31. PLATEAU STATE – 08037116395

32. RIVERS STATE – 08064274222

33. SOKOTO STATE – 07069084570

34. TARABA STATE – 08136728969

35. YOBE STATE – 08061397656

36. ZAMFARA STATE – 08140075541

37. FCT – 09114913164

Continue Reading

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Cyril Ramaphosa Re-elected As South African President



The South African Parliament has, during its first sitting of the 7th Parliament on Friday, re-elected Mr. Cyril Ramaphosa as the President of the Republic of South Africa. He has been re-elected to serve a second term as the President.

Thia was hours after his African National Congress and the Democratic Alliance (DA) agreed to form a coalition, setting aside their rivalry in a historic governance pact.

In terms of the Constitution, the National Assembly must, at its first sitting after its election, elect a woman or a man from among its members to be the President.

Mr. Ramaphosa was elected with 283 votes against Mr Julius Malema with 44 votes. The Constitution states that when elected President, a person ceases to be a member of the National Assembly and, within five days, must assume office by swearing or affirming faithfulness to the Republic and obedience to the Constitution.

The President-elect will be inaugurated during a ceremony in Pretoria which, according to the Constitution, should take place within five days after the President’s election.

Continue Reading


Finidi George Resigns As Super Eagles Coach



Newly appointed Super Eagles coach, Finidi George, has resigned his appointment,  according to a post by ex-Super Eagles media officer, Toyin Ibitoye on on Saturday.

He wrote, “News just in. Finidi George #FinidiGeorge_FG has resigned from his #NGSuperEagles manager position.”

The resignation follows the Nigeria Football Federation’s (NFF) decision to appoint a foreign coach to oversee him, despite his recent appointment in May.

Continue Reading


Appeal Court Insists Amaewhule, 26 Others Not Members of Rivers House of Assembly



The Court of Appeal in Abuja, on Friday, refused to set aside a judgment ordering the removal of Martins Chike Amaewhule and 26 others as members of the Rivers State House of Assembly.

Justice Charles Wali of the Rivers State High Court, Port Harcourt, on May 30 declared the seats of the 27 lawmakers who dumped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in October last year vacant.

The judge, who delivered the ruling in a suit filed by the Speaker of the Assembly, Victor Oko Jumbo, and two others, also restrained Amaewhule from parading himself as Speaker of the Assembly.

Dissatisfied with the verdict, the aggrieved lawmakers approached the appellate court to set it aside.

However, at a virtual hearing of the matter on Friday, a three-member panel of the appellate court declared that the reversal of the lower court ruling would amount to pre-judging the appeal currently before it.

The panel, thereafter, fixed June 20 for the hearing of the appeal filed by the lawmakers in their quest to regain their seats in the Assembly.

Continue Reading